Critical to the success of the legislative process is the work of the General Assembly's committees. Although there are several types of committees, the standing committees are the backbone of the legislative process. The principal standing committees in the Senate and the House consider all statewide legislation and recommend to the General Assembly which legislation should pass and which should fail. Each legislator is appointed by the President or the Speaker to serve on one principal standing committee.


Since 1972, Maryland has had 47 legislative election districts based on population. Each of the General Assembly's 47 senators is elected from one of these districts.  The Senate is composed of six Standing Committees.  They are as follows:

Judicial Proceedings Committee 

Charles has served on the Judicial Proceedings Committee (“JPR”) in 2020.  JPR is assigned legislation relating to:

  • the Administrative Procedures Act
  • commercial code
  • constitutional amendments
  • corrections
  • criminal and civil laws, penalties, and procedures
  • equal rights and opportunities
  • ethics
  • family law
  • judicial administration and court structure
  • juvenile justice
  • landlord and tenant laws
  • law enforcement organizations
  • legal profession
  • legal rights and immunities
  • public safety
  • real property
  • trusts and estates
  • vehicle laws

Judiciary Committee 

Charles served on the Judiciary Committee from 2015-2020.  The Judiciary Committee is composed of twenty-two delegates and considers legislation relating:

  • courts and judicial proceedings;
  • administrative law;
  • corrections;
  • criminal and civil laws, penalties, and procedures;
  • drunk and drugged driving;
  • estates and trusts;
  • family law;
  • juvenile cases;
  • the legal profession;
  • legal rights and immunities; and
  • jailable motor vehicle offenses.